Wednesday, June 23News That Matters

Shikhar Dhawan To Lead Unique-Ponder India Squad In Sri Lanka ODI, T20I Sequence

Shikhar Dhawan To Lead New-Look India Squad In Sri Lanka ODI, T20I Series

Shikhar Dhawan will lead India in three ODIs, three T20Is against Sri Lanka in July this yr.© AFP

The Board of Administration for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India Men’s squad for the upcoming three-match ODI sequence and three-match T20I sequence against Sri Lanka. Shikhar Dhawan will lead in the absence of long-established captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain Rohit Sharma, who’re on the tour of England with the Take a look at crew. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named vice-captain. The squad has several unique faces in center-present batsman Nitish Rana, all-rounder K Gowtham, opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad and quick bowler Chetan Sakariya among others. Devdutt Padikkal, but another opening batsman, also aspects in the squad even as Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, and Simarjeet Singh absorb been named as accumulate bowlers.

India Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (VC), P Shaw, D Padikkal, R Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, M Pandey, H Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (WK), S Samson (WK), Y Chahal, R Chahar, K Gowtham, K Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, V Chakravarthy, D Chahar, N Saini, C Sakariya

— BCCI (@BCCI) June 10, 2021

BCCI also confirmed the time desk for the upcoming sequence with all matches space to be performed at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The ODIs shall be performed on July 13, 16 and 18 adopted by the T20Is on July 21, 23 and 25.

The squad picked for the tour has several frequent gamers missing because the Indian Take a look at crew is on a tour of England to play the World Take a look at Championship (WTC) closing against Unique Zealand starting up June 18 in Southampton.

The WTC closing shall be adopted by a five-match Take a look at sequence against England starting up August 4.

Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, who made impressive starts to their India careers in the diminutive-overs sequence against England in March absorb been named for the Sri Lanka tour as neatly.

Seasoned pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the quick bowling attack comprising Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and newcomer Sakariya.

Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav are entrance-line spinners while Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and K Gowtham slot in as all-rounders.


Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan are the 2 wicket-keepers named in the squad.

Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Issues mentioned in this text

Read More